The Jury

The jury will be announced soon. Stay tuned.

The Jury

Agnieszka Holland

Director and screenwriter, Poland

Agnieszka Holland is a Polish film and television director and screenwriter, best known for her political contributions to Polish cinema. She began her career as assistant to directors Krzysztof Zanussi and Andrzej Wajda, and emigrated to France shortly before the 1981 imposition of the martial law in Poland.

Zurab Alasania

Media Expert, Ukraine

Zurab Alasania is Director General of the Public Broadcasting Company of Ukraine (UA:PBC) from March 2014 to May 2021. In 2000 he cofounded the Objective Media Group, where he served as director and, six years later, launched the Media Port agency alongside a weekly newspaper, the MediaPost. He was Director of the Kharkiv Regional State Television and Radio and cofounded the Ukrainian internet TV station Hromadske.TV.

Roza Otunbayeva

Former President of Kyrgyzstan

Roza Otunbayeva is a Kyrgyz diplomat and politician who served as the President of Kyrgyzstan from 7 April 2010 until 1 December 2011, becoming the first female Central Asian Head of State.

She is the current head of “The Initiative of Roza Otunbayeva” International Foundation.

Kenan Aliyev

Executive Editor of Current Time, Czech Republic

Current Time is RFE/RL’s Russian-language TV program that brings independent news and information to Russian-speaking audiences in Russia and neighboring states. Produced jointly with VOA, it  broadcasts via satellite stream by affiliates and on cable channels in Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan. Previously, Aliyev was Director of RFE/RL’s Azerbaijani Service; worked in Washington, DC as a broadcaster for Voice of America, and was a regular contributor to the BBC World Service.

Ekaterina Shulman

Political Scientist, Russia

Ekaterina Shulman is a political scientist specializing in the legislative process in modern Russia, parliamentarism and decision-making mechanisms in hybrid political regimes. She has a PhD in political science and serves as an associate professor at the Moscow School of Social and Economic Sciences (MSSES), and senior lecturer at the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (RANEPA). From Dec 2018 to Oct 2019 she was a member of the Presidential Council for Civil Society and Human Rights.

Mikita Mikado

CEO of PandaDoc, BY/USA

Founder of the IT-company from BY. In August 2020 he launched an initiative focused on ending violence in Belarus and harnessing aid and support to the victims of the Belarusian Government. The initiative has helped dozens of Belarusian law-enforcing officials who put themselves at the forefront of ending violence by refusing to follow orders to exercise force and violent persecutions. In September, the Belarus Government ordered searches to be conducted at the Minsk office of PandaDoc. Four employees were detained with a fabricated criminal case initiated against them. Because of repressions they closed their office in Minsk and evacuated around 250 employees.

Denis Gursky

Founder and CEO of SocialBoost NGO, Ukraine

Denis Gursky is an expert in digital communications, social media and civic engagement. Gursky is a founder and CEO of SocialBoost NGO, which is focused on development of civic tech and open government data. 

He is an Open Data Advisor to the Prime Minister of Ukraine. Gursky is also the author of and one of the initiators of open data law in Ukraine.

Back To Top

Icebreakers Awards 2021